Can You Pick the Continent Each of These Countries Is Located In?

Stella Alexander

Image: shutterstock

About This Quiz

Around the world in 80 days! Rather than traveling around the world physically, we're going to take you virtually, and we don't need 80 days to do it! From all the countries around the globe, can you pick the continent in which each of these countries is located?

There are seven continents of the world but only six of them are habitable. While Antarctica is large enough to hold many countries, it is not made for permanent life. While some people travel to "sight-see" or to conduct research, all of it is temporary. Besides Antarctica, there are the six other habitable continents: Africa, Australia, Asia, North America, South America, and Europe.

Throughout the world, there are 195 countries that lie within these six continents. Africa has the most countries with 54. Europe comes in second with 47, while Asia is a close third with 44. North America has 23, South America has 12, and Australia, often called Oceania, has 14. With all these countries around the world, can you match them to the proper continent?

If you live in the United States, you might easily recognize which continent it's in, but what about Fiji? You might know that Russia takes up the majority of one continent, but could you match Guatemala to the proper one?

We're traveling around the world with this quiz! Will you be piloting these answers towards a perfect landing, or will you be stuck at check-in? 

Ready for take off!

United States

The Unites States is a large country located within North America. It is also the third largest country in the world. The country's capital is Washington, D.C.


China is a country found in Asia. It has the world's largest population. Its capital is Beijing.


France is a country found in Europe. It borders countries like Spain, Switzerland, and Belgium. The capital of France is Paris where you'll find a major tourist attraction, the Eiffel Tower.


Australia is a country found in the southern Pacific Ocean is the Eastern Hemisphere. Its capital is Canberra.


Nigeria is a country located in the central region of Africa. One of the countries most populous cities, its capital is Abuja.


Haiti is a country located in the Caribbean Sea. Part of North America and the island of Hispaniola (with the Dominican Republic), this country is found on the the left side of the island and its capital is Port-au-Prince.


Israel is a small country located in Asia near its border with Africa. Tel Aviv is a large, popular city in the country. Jerusalem is Israel's capital.


Estonia is a small eastern European country. It lies near the border of Asia. Its capital city is Tallinn.


Argentina is one of the largest countries on the continent of South America. Its capital is Buenos Aires.


Colombia is another country found in South America. It is the only country in South America that shares its border with a North American country. Itscapital is Bogota.


Fiji is a small island country that is part of the Australian/Oceanic continent. Found in the southern Pacific Ocean, its capital is Suva.


Panama is a small country located in North America. Often called the region of Central America, Panama is the last North American country on the mainland and shares its border with South American country, Colombia.


Liberia is a small country found on the western coast of Africa. Sharing its border with the Atlantic ocean, this country's capital is Monrovia.


Montenegro is a very, very small country located in Europe. Bordering countries like Serbia and Bosnia, there are many languages spoken there besides its official language, Montenegrin. Its capital is Podgorica.


Thailand is a country found in southeast Asia. Bordering the countries of Cambodia, Laos, and Myanmar, its capital is Bangkok.


Brazil is the largest country n South America. While most natives of South America speak Spanish, the official language of Brazil is Portuguese. Due to Brazil's high population, this makes Portuguese the most widely spoken language on the continent. Brazil's capital is Brasilia.


Cuba is an island country that is part of North America. It is located in the Caribbean and its capital is Havana.


Swaziland is an extremely small country located in southern Africa. It has two capitals, Mbabane and Lobamba.


Romania is an eastern European country. It lies very close to the Asian border. Its capital is Bucharest.


Guyana is a small country located in South America. Its capital is Georgetown and it is the only South American country whose official language is English.

Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea is part of Australia/Oceania and is located in the southeastern Pacific Ocean. It borders Indonesia, an Asian country, and its capital is Port Moresby.


Suriname is a small country located in northern South America. It is the only South American country whose official language is Dutch. Its capital is Paramaribo.


Yemen is a country that is located in Asia. It borders the Red Sea, the Gulf of Aden and Saudi Arabia. Its capital is Sana'a


Egypt is a country located in northeast Africa. Some of the country is also considered to be in Asia. Egypt's capital is Cairo.

Vatican City

Vatican City is a small county located in Europe. Completely surrounded within Italy, this sovereign state is led by the Pope, the leader of the Catholic Church.


Canada is a large country in North America. It is actually the second-largest country in the world after Russia. Canada's capital is Ottawa.


Cambodia is a country located in southeast Asia. It borders Laos, Vietnam, and Thailand. Its capital is Phnom Penh.


Tuvalu is a small, small island country located in the Pacific. One of the few Polynesian islands, its capital is Funafuti.


Morocco is a northwest African country that shares its borders with Algeria and the Atlantic Ocean. Its capital is Rabat.


Paraguay is a central South American country. Completely landlocked, it shares its borders with Bolivia, Brazil, and Argentina. Its capital is Asuncion.

New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country that is part of Australia/Oceania. Located in the southeast Pacific, its capital is Wellington.


Iceland is an island that is part of the European continent. Found in the northern Atlantic Ocean, its capital is Reykjavik.

South Korea

South Korea can be found on the Asian continent. The country only shares a border with North Korea. Its capital is Seoul.


Chad is a central African country. Completely landlocked, it shares borders with many countries, some of which are Nigeria, Sudan, and Libya. Its capital is N'Djamena.


Mexico is a large country in North America. Its capital is Mexico City. The country starts the border of what is considered to be the Latin American countries.

About HowStuffWorks Play

How much do you know about dinosaurs? What is an octane rating? And how do you use a proper noun? Lucky for you, HowStuffWorks Play is here to help. Our award-winning website offers reliable, easy-to-understand explanations about how the world works. From fun quizzes that bring joy to your day, to compelling photography and fascinating lists, HowStuffWorks Play offers something for everyone. Sometimes we explain how stuff works, other times, we ask you, but we’re always exploring in the name of fun! Because learning is fun, so stick with us!

Explore More Quizzes